GOOD AND BAD HAIR….

 

I remember back in the 80’s, Spike Lee was making real movies, and addressing some very real issues within the black community.  The industry labeled him a racist nut, but if your black you know that the issues he dealt with in his movies were very real to us.  One of those movies was School Daze and it was about the inner-racism that has existed since the days of slavery.  If you’ve never seen it, I’d highly recommend that you do.  Here is a clip and keep in mind, that the hair is just a symbol.

The very first time I experienced racism was in high school, at the hands of girls who had  darker complexions. I could never understand where that unwarranted hate came from, as I had never done anything to this person personally, she just assumed that because my skin was light, and my hair reached my shoulders, that I thought I was better than her. To me, having a lighter complexion was no big deal because the people in my family ran the color-line from “high yella” to dark brown.  We were all different, but we loved each other regardless, because no matter what, we were family

With that said, I have once again run into a person of color who hates herself.

This is the face of self-hatred.  I never even knew this person existed until she tweeted me regarding my “failed blog”.  Lol at first I thought she was a white man because she called me a “nigger”.  When she called me fat, I had to see who was throwing all that salt my way, and that’s what I found.  So words were exchanged back and forth, and then she sent me this…


 

My question is, we are arguing about blogs, so where did the racial issues come from?  I never claimed that I was white or mixed for that matter, so what’s motivating this….self hatred.  I suspect that our mentally unstable friend is one of those people who believe  that having a dark complexion is something to be ashamed of.  If Willie Lynch were alive today, he certainly would be smiling to know that his seeds of divide and conquer are still keeping us from coming together . But after all this time, why is complexion still a major issue for us?  And to call another black person a “n*****” is unacceptable in my opinion but if your willing to disrespect your own people, how can you demand that others (races) don’t? Please somebody tell me what happened to the Black Power movement of the 70’s?


 

27 Responses to “GOOD AND BAD HAIR….”

  1. It’s really sad to see this still goin on in 2010. But when these so called black celebrities lighten their skin and get so called non black noses (nose jobs) and think people are to dumb to notice you have young girls and so women who see this and begin to think they’re not as pretty cause they’re dark. I’m not blaming this all on them because you first learn to love yourself at home. It just makes you wonder what the lady that went off on Dirtygurl was told about herself ass a child.

    • I THINK SHE WAS TOLD EVERYTHING SHE SAYS TO ME, OH AND IT GETS ALOT WORSE THAN THIS I JUST WANTED TO KEEP ON TOPIC

      • Shucks, you can go ahead and add everything she says to me as well. I’m mad she stay going off on us, calling us ugly dikes, when apparently she’s BOTH!!! Ugh.

      • Wow this is amazing how people are smh. Hey dirtygurl girl there’s Jasmine Mans “Nicki Minaj” wrote a poem about how Nicki Minaj is not a good role model this is the link you guys and she’s on point and she’s telling it like it is

        This is so good. I will sent it to you.

  2. When you don’t realize & KNOW that God creates no junk, you’re just a lost cause and EVERYONE who does not look like you becomes the subject of hate. This girl probably was told so many times that she was ugly, fat, too dark or whatever the case maybe. She hides behind her words and behind that computer screen. Why, because society has their nose turned up at her. It’s sad to NOT love who you are. No matter what you look like, love yourself. It’s evident that this was not told to her otherwise she wouldn’t be attacking Dirty like she did.

    Discrimination amongst our own race is BANANAS!!!!. I’ve been letting the relaxer grow out of my hair (2 yrs now) and because the wave pattern in my hair is more pronounced, people assume that I’m not black. I’ve heard, black people can’t/don’t grow hair like that. I’m like are you serious????????? Why do we have this mentality? I’m not understanding why it’s said that you’re light skinned and you think you are better than others. Why does skin color have to be the reason why? I feel like if people have a problem about my light skin, then that’s THEIR problem.
    I think it’s just sad to be hated on because someone who doesn’t know you judges you because of your skin color. Welcome to the world we live in

    • what’ so crazy is, that i have five kids and they vary in color from my very light son with green eyes, to my darkest son who is three and the others are every shade in between the two she posted a pic of my youngest who happens to be the darkest of them and called him all kinds of names, but i’m sure she had a fit when she saw keshawn who is the lightest

    • MY DAD AND MOM ARE BOTH OF NATIVE AMERICAN HERTIAGE, ALONG WITH BLACK AND A LITTLE FRENCH CREOLE FROM MY DAD, SO OF COURSE MY HAIR HAS A MORE PRONOUNCED WAVE PATTERN, BUT TRUST ME WHEN I SAY IT HAS THE TENDENCY TO TANGLE AND BECOME “NAPPY”, I LOVE MY CHILDREN’S NATURAL HAIR, AND I DON’T MAKE APOLOGIES FOR IT,THE THING IS THAT MOST NON BLACK PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS CURIOUS AS TO HOW IT FEELS, I GUESS THEY CAN’T IMAGINE SOMETHING THAT LOOKS SO ROUGH, IS SO SOFT…I LOVE IT!

  3. We have to remember that according to the Willie Lynch doctrine pertaining to our people, self hatred equals wisdom. The damage that has been done to our people is incredible. That’s why I go out of my way to explain to my people who we really are and where we really came from and that we are not and were not always on the bottom of the pile. This is one way to break the conditioning of self hatred.

    The is also another side to this coin. You have to remember that people have been conditioned to vent their angers and frustrations at inanimate objects. A person will shout at a television screen all day which cannot reply back, at something be projected to them, but they will urinate and defacate themselves at facing up to real issues such as corrupt government and an enclosing police state.

    We have to also remember that we now live in a world where folks have been programmed to look out for themselves only and to turn their noses up at their fellow man/woman. People feed into the power they think they receive when they put another person down, however the power is completely illusionary, the mind can work wonders with itself. I truly believe that only a true spiritual healing can restore and heal the damage that has been done to us(which is on the way), we as a people have been totally broken.

    Where there are some of us who are awake and are trying to place our differences aside and come together, the majority who are still feeding into this doctrine are a danger not only to themselves but to us aswell. Kim talked about her hiding behind the computer. The computer has now become an extension of her emotions.

    I really have to laugh at her calling you fat Dirtygurl, does she really have any grounds on which to stand to launch such an attack?

    Back to something else that Kim mentioned about people referring to our genetic limitations in producing certain features. We have no limitations, we can even sire white children with blonde hair and blue eyes:

    Who wants to still step up and say what we can and cannot produce?

  4. verbs we come in all shades, black is every color integrated, and white is totally void of color, that is why you cannot get black from white, but you can get white from black, as for her, at first i was mad, and not just for these reasons, she took to a whole another level when she started calling my kids bastard, and retard, but i guess if you can’t shake me you find a lower blow to deal, it just goes to show that she is mentally unstable, and knows no boundaries and for that i feel real pity for her, i hope that she can see how we see her rants and tirades and something will dawn in that pea brain of hers

  5. buttaflyy i’m sorry for exposing you to this sociopath, lol she calls everyone a dyke…so i figure she must be a lesbian that still closeted and she’s frustrated, she wants to come out, but she’s afraid. her grand insult of being a dyke would only work if i wasn’t sure about my sexuality lol
    FAILURE

    • Aw, Gurl, please, you know I can hold my own. It just sucks not wanting to sink to her level to get my point across about how retarded she is being. Just to have so much hatred towards people you don’t even know is ridiculous. Just like the school bully that cries themselves to sleep every night, while maintaining a tough exterior by tormenting unsuspecting bystanders.

  6. HOintervention Says:

    She is big as hell and talking like that. She is clearly unhappy with herself and takes it out on others. I do use the n word but after giving it alot of thought will do my best not to say it. Great site!

  7. im not going to post on that chic, im going to post on spike lee’s good and bad hair. its obvious spike lee doesnt know black women because bi racical women(which most of those chicks were in that video) would NEVER brag about their hair. most bi racial chicks are the downest most militant black women there are! i think its because their mothers are white and therefore they see the rejection of black men first hand. their fathers rejected black beauty for the white boys standard of beauty. the bi racial chicks see this and that is why they mainlly only date the jet black brothers and normally dont ever think they are better than regular black chicks. this is what I HAVE SEEN in my life.

    • I THINK THAT SPIKE WAS JUST USING THE GOOD AND BAD HAIR AS A SYMBOL NOW JANE PLAYED BY TISHA CAMPBELL ALSO HAD BLUE CONTACTS, AND THE WHOLE CLIQUE THOUGHT THEY WERE BETTER THAN EVERYBODY AND ONE INTERESTING THING, SPIKE PUT THE DARKER SISTERS IN A CHEAP MOTEL AND PUT THE LIGHTER SISTERS IN THE BETTER ONE, TO MAKE THE ANIMOSITY IN THE MOVIE REAL…AND I’M TELLING U I COULD FEEL THAT WHILE WATCHING

  8. Um, wow…I’m not tryin to be funny or nothing but she is scary looking and she kinda looks like that girl from the movie Precious. Lord have mercy

  9. AS I’M LOOKING AT HER MORE AND MORE, IF SHE LOST ALOT OF THAT WEIGHT I’M SURE SHE’S A DECENT LOOKING FEMALE BUT BECAUSE OF THE FAT YOU CAN’T TELL, ALL YOU SEE IS FAT AND THAT GOLD LIPSTICK AND GUM CHEWING DOESN’T HELP AT ALL

    • No, I’m sorry, I’m going to have to be the bitch on this post.

      Even if she lost the weight and the attitude, she knows she would only be the friend you keep around to hold your purse at the club while you go dance. Besides, she’s been putting up such a front all of these years trying to deflect her true feelings about herself, it would be a sign of weakness for her to suddenly shed her false sense of security and fake self confidence.

  10. On the subject of the good and bad hair, some people have to remember even ‘good’ hair may not grow. My sister and I both have loose sponge-like hair, however, her’s has always been long and flowing and I have never been able to get mine to touch my shoulders. Neither one of us have any chemicals in our hair and we both have the same parents so there isn’t any difference in our biological makeup. I’ve grown up quite jealous of anyone with longer hair because no matter how ‘good’ my hair has been, even the kinkiest hair can always be longer than mine. So, it’s not just the texture that causes it to grow.

  11. Ms. Mizani Says:

    Hello everyone,

    Clearly this young woman needs to be updated with the real information in this day and age. Self hatered is bad enough within itself, but it is not what divides us as much as it did years before. We’ve moved into a class caste system instead of a colorism system. Which is more than obvious to see when we listen to todays’ music, what is shown on TV, what we see in magazines, our PCs, and any other way of communicating these facts. It’s the “haves” v’s the “have nots”. And even now with society being this way, it still boils down to this…. It’s the world v’s the 13 Illumanti Bloodlines. All person’s dealing with color issues like this young lady should read The Willie Lynch Letter. I made my kids read this when they were very young and we shared dialoge about it until they understood it. Right now fighting one another is only rejoiceful to those who want to see us wiped out and no longer exist.

    So Sista, If you’re reading this I suggest that you feed your brain with info that matters and makes a real difference in life. There are so many things to be proud of about the black race as a whole. I guarantee if you took the time to do research I’m sure you’ll be singing a different tune and find love in your heart for your ppl no matter how light or dark, fat or skinny, male or female etc. they are. After all… We are the true original ppl who are also the choosen ones. Peace and Blessings to you.

  12. i went through the same thing in school and life. alot of girls used to say the same thing about me. my entire life i always wanted to be darker…finally i realized that im beautiful just the way i am and whoever don’t like it…really don’t have to like it.

    when it comes to hair, i can’t lie, i like when my hair is straight although i wear it “natural” sometimes.

  13. lmao she has her nerves calling anyone a nigger or fat….

  14. I love dirty gurl's blogs Says:

    I just want to say that I love your blog’s dirtygurl. I am a black female just turned 38, and I have been reading your blogs since I found your blog by accident this january, I was typing something else on my computer and like I said found your blogs and I have been a fan ever since. As for this black hair stuff, I am over it. I was born with long hair that went past my shoulders, as a little girl, other people used to comment on my hair when I was little and in high school, this past may I cut off almost all of my hair, and I feel great, short hair has defined the features of my face better without all that hair getting in the way, me I’m not trying to grow my hair that long anymore, I am just doing like my girl, sang in her song I am not my hair, I love india arie, and that other singer chrisette michelle. I’m not saying that you have to cut off your hair to feel beautiful I’m just saying that it works for me, I get more shouts of girl you look good for my short hair than I did when I had long hair, and I am big beautiful big boned girl with brown skin, and I love myself. I was taught that as soon as I could talk.

  15. I love dirty gurl's blogs Says:

    I think it’s very sad when another black person has to talk about another black person’s kids,leave the kids out of your ignorance. If she is so unhappy with her appearance she needs to talk to a shrink and try to make some changes in her life, like for one get her attitude together, two, lose some weight, yeah I said she needs to lose some weight, she is too big to be so unhealthy, I am a big girl myself but I am eating healthy and doing something about my size,I am doing this for me, and go to the beauty shop, and get a professionally done hair style for her face shape, and looks, go to a professional for her make-up, they have some sexy clothes in lame bryant, and ashley stewart, nice shoes at nordstrom’s talk to the women in her family, if she has no friends, and she needs to go to church and pray, read her bible, because all that black on black, you light skin, I’m dark skin stuff has to go. I don’t judge people on their skin color, I go by their actions, and if you act a fool with me, I let you go, I am too grown and mature for other’s stupidity.

  16. truth be told, i am not a small girl either i never was, but i’m not going around calling everyone else fat, what room do i have to talk
    it wasn’t a wise decision to bring my babies into it, because that’s when my claws come out and once that line is crossed, nothing is off limits. i’ve got it out of my system and i’ve reported her to twitter for impersonating me, they want me to send them my identification so that’s on my agenda tomorrow, after that we’ll see how it goes.
    i

  17. neosoleluva Says:

    I love your blog! Anyway Im dark brown and just happened to have more light friends throughout highschool. I have noticed that in highschool, some darker girls assumed my friend was stuck up for no reason. I have also known dark girls who wanted to be lighter and lighter girls who were envious of dark skin and openly admitted it. Beauty comes in all shades.

  18. all i have to say is : i think it is BROTHERS that are upholding this light skin long hair shit!! if they werent so color struck, i dont think we sista’s would give it a second thought!!! I BLAME BLACK MEN!!!

Leave a Reply

