Goodbye Bea!:(

Legendary tall gal, and deadpan comedic actor, Bea Aurthur died and left the world a little sadder with her passing.  I didn’t watch Maude, which spawned the spin off Good Times which I never missed, but I sure do love the Golden Girls!  I mean, what’s not to love.  You have the hyper-sexual southern belle, Blanche Deveraux, the Scandanavian nitt-witt, Rose Nyland, the old Sicillian mother Sophia Portillo, and of course the amazonic , level headed school teacher, Dorothy Zbornack! Oh and Dorothy came as a package deal with her putz ex-husband Stan, a follically challenged pig. This was the ultimate ensemble cast, and they could never be duplicated. These ladies showed the world that life doesn’t end at fifty, and cheesecake played a big role in thier lives while they sat and talked out thier problems at that tiny kitchen table.  The exchanges between Dorothy and her mother Sophia were true comedic genius, and the whole cast played thier parts to a T.  What were your fave moments from the Golden Girls? 

RIP Bea and Estelle

RIP Bea and Estelle

My fave episode was when Rose’s cousing Sven came to visit.  He was supposed to marry a girl from Sweden, but fell in love with Blanche, which had Rose upset.  So once Sven pronounces his love for Blanche, there’s the doorbell.  Big Sven, his father, sent his bride-to-be to come and get him, and she’s a young hottie, needless to say, he forgot all about Blanche!  Bea will be missed.

Image source

4 Responses to “Goodbye Bea!:(”

  1. loquacious Says:

    Girl don’t nobody better say nuthin’ bad about Miss Bea! I loved me some of her. I grew up watching All in the Family, Maude, Golden Girls. I mean can’ you believe PEOPLE magazine gave her a upper right hand pic on their cover. I mean WHAT. THE. FUCK? As a fan I’m offended. Miss Bea was a comedic genious. It took me a full week to type because I still watch Golden Girls.

  2. dirtygurl Says:

    me too, even though i’ve seen all of them, the are still funny, especially sophia with her Sicily stories
    “picture it….”

  3. loquacious Says:

    LOL @ Sophie and her Sicilian stories. She was something else wasn’t she? Just full of fire and wit. IT’s so funny because Estelle was so short and Bea was so big. Girl I’m about to buy the full dvd of that show! No wait, it’s a recession, I’ll just record it from Lifetime :-).

  4. SouthernBelle Says:

    These women had me laughing so hard, until tears would fall and my side would ache. They will definitely be missed. Golden Girls was my all time favorite. Each Actress played their parts so well, that if you’d met them you would expect them to be in character. And watching re-runs was never a problem for me. It was like seeing it for the first time. If only other comedic shows were as good. RIP

Leave a Reply

