I’m Done With Bossip..

I started visiting Bossip a little more than a year ago.  I have found them to be entertaining, but not long after I began to notice that the blog promotes racism, gender-bashing, and homphobia.  If you have any doubts, log on and you will notice that one of their categories is called “hoe sit down”.  The people who post stories constantly refer to women as “bitches” and “hoes”.

While your there, click on the comments link and read through them. There’s going  to be at least one racially charged comment, and more female bashing.  Now this is supposed to be a black  blog, and I know that their comments are moderated, so why do they let posters use the “n” word and spread their hateful messages?

When the Rihanna tragedy first broke, I scoured the Internet for more information, Bossip was the only blog  who claimed that she’d been assaulted for giving him Herpes.  What pisses me off is that they don’t have the education, or sense enough to realize that Herpes is divided into two forms.  There’s simplex 1, which contributes to coldsores.  Now how many people suffer from coldsores?  Simplex 2 is the Herpes that is passed through unprotected sex.  Now I’m not Rihanna’s gynecologist, so I don’t know what she has, or doesn’t have, but I do know that a couple of weeks ago, they posted a story about the couple in Dublin, and in one of the pictures taken, Rihanna had a cold sore, and Bossip started claiming that she has Herpes…and we all know that when you say something like that, people are going to automatically assume that you are talking about Simplex 2.  My point is that what they did was irresponsible. 

So I am officially distancing myself from the blog.  I will not reference them in any of my posts, I am eliminating them from my blogroll, and I am no longer visiting the site.  I am in no way saying that you shouldn’t if you want to, I’m just stating my intentions.  So with that said, I am done.  Thank you for listening.

3 Responses to “I’m Done With Bossip..”

  1. Love your entire post. I posted a few times and was a longtime lurker before. Everything you posted is what turned me off to the blog. There is too much immaturity, trollish posts, and ignorant threads. I’d rather be mentally stimulated and spend time in a different blog. I don’t even go to Concrete Loop, MTO, and YBF anymore. I must be getting older. The posts strike me as childish.

  2. lol i never did go to mto they have a rep of making things up out the blue. i just take what they blog about and look at it from a different angle. if someone does something good, i give props, but if you mess up, i’m going to call you out on that.

  3. loquacious Says:

    Yep I’m with you. Some posters call it MediaFakeOut, and I believe it. I’m like, oh please. I cant relate to the immaturity anymore. My patience is thin nowadays, especially since the economy is bad.

Leave a Reply

